CompTIA, officially known as the Computing Technology Industry Association, is a non-profit organization of more than 200 leading IT companies and 2,000 member companies.

As a business organization for the IT industry, one of CompTIA's goals is to ensure that there is a strong group of IT professionals with the skills to drive the adoption and use of information technology in companies around the world. CompTIA is the leading provider of vendor-independent training and certification programs for these IT professionals and has issued more than two million certificates to date.


CompTIA certificate programs have been configured for IT support, networking, security, open source development (Linux), and the cloud. In addition to technical certifications, there are additional CompTIA professional certification programs for business professionals, non-IT professionals, and technical trainers.

This guide provides a comprehensive introduction to the various CompTIA certification programs, recommended CompTIA certification pathways, costs associated with CompTIA certification programs, and knowledge of job openings related to the CompTIA certification list.

CompTIA certifications

CompTIA offers vendor independent certifications that confirm candidates have reached a certain level of experience that can be universally applied regardless of manufacturer. For example, someone with the CompTIA Network + certification must apply their knowledge and skills to Cisco or Juniper network technologies, at a fundamental level.

The CompTIA certification program includes certificates in four categories:

Come to


Online security


In its CompTIA certification roadmap, CompTIA views the three categories of technical certification as progress, as IT professionals continue to develop their skills from core to infrastructure to cybersecurity.

Some of the certificates on the CompTIA certification list are Department of Defense Approved Basic Certifications (DoD 8570.01-M). This can provide certified professionals with employment opportunities within the federal government.

Professional certifications for stackable infrastructures

CompTIA Cloud Admin Professional (CCAP)

The CompTIA Cloud Admin Professional stackable certification is intended for IT professionals who regularly work with the implementation and maintenance of cloud services.

Required Exams: To earn Stackable CCAP certification, you must earn CompTIA Network + and Cloud + certifications.

CompTIA Network Infrastructure Professional (CNIP)

CompTIA's Stackable Network Infrastructure Professional Certification is for network professionals who design and implement infrastructure projects.

Required Exams: To earn the CNIP stackable certification, you must pass both CompTIA Network + and Server +.

CompTIA Linux Network Professional (CLNP)

The CompTIA Linux Network Professional stackable certification is for IT professionals who regularly support and monitor systems running on Linux.

Required Exams: To earn Stackable CLNP certification, you must earn CompTIA Network + and Linux + certifications.

Read More: network infrastructure expert